top of page

Vintage in My heart - Barbros Flower Dream


This week i have become a brand rep for Splashings of Fabric. This is the first bundle of fabric they have sent me. I love these great vintage style prints designed by Linda Frosberg for Vintage in My Heart. I have 1/2 m of the Print and the turquoise and 1/2 m of turquoise rib. I first fished out this spool of lace i have from a charity shop and it was a perfect match. Then looking through my stash of patterns i noticed i hadn't made up the gingerbread skirt by Mother Grimm. Fortunately i had already taped the pattern pieces together so quickly traces the 6yrs pattern pieces off and got cutting.

The gingerbread skirts sewed up very quickly too.

So I still had some of this great fabric left, so now it was trying to work out how i could get the most out of what was left. There wasn't enough to get the full front or back of a top, but i remembered that Mother Grimm also had a great top/hoodie pattern that might work. The Mystic Myrrdin has an option for a colour blocked side panel front and back and I could just fit this to the fabric i had left in a size 6yrs. I have enough Turquoise for the side panels and sleeves but not quite enough for the pocket lining and i needed something that would 'pop' for the piping detail. I had a scrap of navy that sorted the pocket lining out. I tried my purple against the fabric and it wasn't quite right but fortunately i had some yellow that looked like it was going to do the job.

My next issue was did i have enough for the cowl neck? Unfortunately the answer is not quite. I didn't left that put me off though and just lost a centimetre of the top.

My daughter likes to have a tag in her clothes so she knows which way round they go. So a scrap of the yellow hopefully means she will put it on the right way round.


Now if we could just have some ok weather and then i can get out and take some decent modelled shots.


Anyway for those who sew, if you love this fabric get on over to Splashings of Fabric and get this in stock print before it runs out and if you are after either of these patterns go check out Mother Grimm (they do adult size too).


If you just love them and would like me to make something like this for you or your little one, these to come in adult too, just shout.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page